David Banner Biography, Name, Age, Height, Play, Net Worth, Films, Movies, Awards

By | July 5, 2021

David Banner Biography

David Banner (Lavell William Crump) an American rapper, record producer, actor, activist,entrepreneur and philanthropist hailing from Mississippi.He produced music for himself as well as artists such as T.I, Trick Daddy, Lil Wayne among other artists.

He as well signed to Universal Records in 2013 and consecutively released four albums: Mississippi: The Album (2003), MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water (2003), Certified (2005), and The Greatest Story Ever Told (2008).

David Banner Age

Banner was born on April 11, 1974 in Brookhaven; Mississippi.

David Banner Solo Career

In 2000, Banner parted ways with his counterpart and went ahead to release his solo debut album titled Them Firewater Boyz, Vol. 1. The album was released on the independent label, Big Face Records.Them Firewater Boyz, Vol. 1.sold around 7,000 copies.

David Banner |Mississippi: The Album, MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water

Banner decided to sign with Universal Records subsidiary, SRC Records after looking at all the options on his table with his manager, Scott Johnson. He went on to release his first major label album, ‘Mississippi: The Album’ in 2003. The album included his hit single, “Like a Pimp”, featuring rapper Lil Flip.

His hit song “Like a Pimp” peaked at #48 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, #10 on the Hot Rap Tracks chart and #15 on the Hot R&B/Hip-Hop Songs chart. Upon the success of his album;. he released a follow-up album the same year titled MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water.The album spawned the hit, “Crank It Up”, featuring Static Major.

David Banner Certified

Banner released his third major label album titled Certified in 2005. Certified’s first single was “Ain’t Got Nothing”featured rappers Magic & Lil Boosie. fThe second single off Certified titled “Play”, reached #7 on the Hot 100 chart,#3 on the Rap chart and #5 on the R&B chart. Certified’s third single, “Touching”, featured rapper Jazze Pha. the single reached #54 on the R&B chart.

David Banner The Greatest Story Ever Told

Banner released his fourth major label album titled ‘The Greatest Story Ever Told’ On July 15, 2008 and was received to mass critical acclaim. The album’s first single titled “9mm” featured singer and rappers Akon, Lil Wayne, and Snoop Dogg. Banner then produced the next two singles off his album: “Get Like Me” featuring Chris Brown and Yung Joc, “Get Like Me” reached #16 on the Hot 100, #7 on the R&B chart, and #2 on the Rap chart. and “Shawty Say”, featuring rapper Lil Wayne.

David Banner Sex, Drugs and Video Games Mixtape

on May 22, 2012; Banner released his debut mixtape titled ‘Sex, Drugs and Video Games’ as a free download on public domains. The mixtape is also available on his website, where he encourages fans to make a donation of at least $1 for the sixteen song mixtape. The first single off the Sex, Drugs and Video Games mixtape is titled featuring Chris Brown and is titled Amazing.

David Banner Relationship and Wife

Banner previously dated Tichina Arnold back in 2008. He is currently single, revealing about his ideal woman in an interview. When asked about the main reason as to why he is not yet married, David banner was quick to add that:

“No, I’m not married. I just want to be the man that most Black women want to marry. I want to be a Black man that stands strong. I’m not perfect, but I want to be the man women want to marry and that kids want to be their father. I want to be that man. When I die I want people to say that that’s a strong African man, I am proud that he’s a part of my culture.”

David Banner Net Worth

Banner has an estimated net worth of $12 million

David Banner Certified Album

On September 20, 2005, Banner released his 4th studio album titled Certified . Most of the album’s production was handled by himself. Certified featured guest appearances from Jadakiss, Talib Kweli, Twista and Jagged Edge, among other rappers. The album spawned the hit single “Play”, which reached #7 on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart.

David Banner Activism

Banner featured on the 2006 song “Seein’ Thangs”on DJ Shadow’s album “The Outsider” . The song was about Hurricane Katrina and in November 2006, Banner was awarded a Visionary Award by the National Black Caucus of the State Legislature in recognition of his work after Hurricane Katrina.

David Banner Albums

  • Them Firewater Boyz, Vol. 1 (2000)
  • Mississippi: The Album (2003)
  • MTA2: Baptized in Dirty Water (2003)
  • Certified (2005)
  • The Greatest Story Ever Told (2008)
  • The God Box (2017)
  • Collaborative albums
  • Death of a Pop Star (with 9th Wonder) (2010)
  • David Banner Awards & Accomplishments

BET Hip Hop Awards

2008, Best Hip-Hop Video (“Get Like Me”) with Chris Brown & Yung Joc [Nominated]
2008, Best Hip-Hop Collabo (“Get Like Me”) with Chris Brown & Yung Joc [Nominated]
2008, Best Producer [Nominated]
2008, Best Rap/R&B Collaboration (“Get Like Me”), featuring Chris Brown & Yung Joc [Nominated]

David Banner Film

  • Def Jam: Fight for NY
  • Def Jam: Fight for NY The Takeover
  • Black Snake Moan
  • Snake the Assassin
  • Days of Wrath
  • Vapors
  • Biz Markie
  • The Experiment
  • Bosch
  • The Confidant
  • Stomp the Yard: Homecoming
  • The Butler
  • Earl Gaines
  • Ride Along
  • Pawnshop Jay

David Banner Height and Weight

Banner stands at 6 ft 2 inches (1.88 m) Tall and has an average body weight

David Banner Family

Banner was born to Zeno Crump, Jr (May 22, 1951 – June 17, 2007), who served as the Jackson district’s fire chief and mother is Carolyn Crump.

David Banner Education

Banner enrolled and later graduated from Provine High School in Jackson in 1992 and then attended Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He then pursued a masters of education at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

He later left the program to pursue his music career full-time. Banner ventured into the music career as a member of the rap duo, Crooked Lettaz. In 2000 , he went solo, releasing his album titled Them Firewater Boyz, Vol. 1. in the same year.

David Banner Song Play

The hit song Play is the Banner second single released his fourth studio album Certified released in 2005 . It was produced by Mr. Collipark. Play peaked 7th on the Billboard Hot 100, remaining his sole top 10 hit and his best-performing single. “Play” remains his most successful and best-selling single to date, receiving the RIAA certification for Gold-level sales.

David Banner Crooked Lettaz

Banner back in 1999, with fellow rapper Kamikaze formed Crooked Lettaz. The pair released Grey Skies; sending their demo tapes to various radio stations among them being WJMI; a radio station based in Jackson, Mississippi.

Category: USA

About Otis

Otieno is is an experienced writer with the skills for his unparalleled storytelling and insight. Born and raised in Kakamega, Kenya, Otieno developed a passion for writing from an early age.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *