Stevie Nicks Age Today, Bio, Husband, Children, Albums, Songs and Net Worth

By | April 29, 2021

Stevie Nicks Biography

Stevie Nicks (Stephanie Lynn Nicks) an American singer and songwriter. Her first solo album, Bella Donna, was released on July 27, 1981, to critical and commercial acclaim, reaching number one on the Billboard 200 chart, with four singles making the Billboard Hot 100, and Rolling Stone deeming her “the Reigning Queen of Rock and Roll”.

Stevie Nicks Age and Birthday

Nicks was born on May 26, 1948, in Phoenix, Arizona, USA .

Stevie Nicks Education

She attended Menlo-Atherton High School and later San Jose State University, where she majored in speech communication and planned to become an English teacher. She dropped out of college the semester before graduation.

Stevie Nicks Career

Her grandfather taught her to sing duets with him by the time she was four years old. With the Goya guitar that she received for her 16th birthday, Nicks wrote her first song, “I’ve Loved and I’ve Lost, and I’m Sad But Not Blue”. She spent her adolescence playing records constantly, and lived in her “own little musical world.” While attending Arcadia High School in Arcadia, California, she joined her first band, the Changing Times, a folk rock group focused on vocal harmonies.

Nicks first met her future musical and romantic partner, Lindsey Buckingham, during her senior year at Menlo-Atherton High School. When she saw Buckingham playing “California Dreamin’” at Young Life club, she joined him in harmony. Buckingham was in a psychedelic rock band named Fritz, but two of its musicians were leaving for college. He asked Nicks in mid-1967 to replace the lead singer, a guitarist named Jody Moreing. For the next three years Fritz was composed of Nicks on lead vocals, Buckingham on bass and vocals, Brian Kane on lead guitar, Javier Pacheco on keyboards, and Bob Aguirre on drums. Pacheco was the main songwriter in the group, with a psychedelic bent, but Nicks’s own compositions brought a country rock flair to the group. Fritz became popular as a live act when it opened for both Jimi Hendrix and Janis Joplin from 1968 until 1971.

After Fritz disbanded in 1972, Nicks and Buckingham continued to write as a duo, recording demo tapes at night in Daly City. They then secured a deal with Polydor Records, which used tracks from their demo tapes to release the album Buckingham Nicks in 1973. The album was not a commercial success, despite the live shows that Nicks and Buckingham performed together to support it, and Polydor dropped the pair from the label.

Nicks and Buckingham moved in with Dashut in 1972. While there, Buckingham landed a guitar-playing gig with the Everly Brothers, and toured with them while Nicks stayed behind working on songs. During this time, Nicks wrote “Rhiannon” after seeing the name in the novel Triad by Mary Leader. She also wrote “Landslide”, inspired by the scenery of Aspen, and her inner turmoil over her decision to pursue music and her relationship with Buckingham.

Nicks and Buckingham joined Fleetwood Mac in January 1975, six weeks after Keith Olsen played their track “Frozen Love” for drummer Mick Fleetwood, who had come to Sound City in California, in search of a studio to record Fleetwood Mac’s next album. Fleetwood remembered Buckingham’s guitar work when guitarist Bob Welch departed to pursue a solo career. On December 31, 1974, Fleetwood called Buckingham to ask him to replace Welch as guitarist, but Buckingham insisted that Nicks and he were “a package deal.”

Nicks’ first solo album, Bella Donna, was released on July 27, 1981, to critical and commercial acclaim, reaching number one on the Billboard 200 chart, with four singles making the Billboard Hot 100, and Rolling Stone deeming her “the Reigning Queen of Rock and Roll”.

Nicks released her second solo album, The Wild Heart, on June 10, 1983. The album went double platinum, reached number five on the Billboard 200 albums chart, and featured three hit singles. It also introduced songwriter and performer Sandy Stewart as a co-writer and vocalist. In 1988, Nicks began work on a fourth solo album with English record producer Rupert Hine. The Other Side of the Mirror was released on May 11, 1989, to commercial success.

Stevie Nicks Net Worth

She has an estimated net worth of $75 million.

Stevie Nicks Albums

  • Buckingham Nicks (with Lindsey Buckingham)
  • Bella Donna
  • The Wild Heart
  • Rock a Little
  • The Other Side of the Mirror
  • Street Angel (1994)
  • Trouble in Shangri-La
  • In Your Dreams
  • 24 Karat Gold: Songs from the Vault

Stevie Nicks Songs

  • Edge of Seventeen
  • Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around
  • Landslide
  • Stand Back
  • Leather and Lace
  • Rhiannon
  • Talk to Me
  • The Chain
  • Gypsy
  • Rooms on Fire
  • Wild Heart
  • I Can’t Wait
  • Go Your Own Way
  • Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You?
  • If Anyone Falls
  • Little Lies
  • Everywhere
  • Dreams
  • Seven Wonders
  • Gold Dust Woman
  • Don’t Stop
  • Nightbird
  • Sara
  • 24 Karat Gold
  • Never Going Back Again
  • Secret Love
  • For What It’s Worth
  • Sometimes It’s a Bitch
  • Say You Love Me
  • Albatross
  • Songbird
  • You Make Loving Fun

Stevie Nicks Height and Weight

Nicks stands at a height of 1.56 meters. She also has a body weight of 175 lbs.

Stevie Nicks Parents and Siblings

Nicks was born to Jess Nicks and Barbara Nicks, she has a brother named Chris Nicks.

Stevie Nicks Husband

Nicks was married to Kim Anderson, the widower of her friend Robin Anderson. They duo got married and in 1983 soon after Robin Anderson died of leukemia. She has never had children with her husband, though she ended up being close to ex-husband Anderson’s son from his previous marriage.

Category: USA

About Otis

Otieno is is an experienced writer with the skills for his unparalleled storytelling and insight. Born and raised in Kakamega, Kenya, Otieno developed a passion for writing from an early age.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *